

TOWN OF WARNER

PO Box 265 Warner, New Hampshire 03278-0265 Telephone: (603) 456-2298 Fax: (603) 456-2297 Warnernh.gov Selectboard, Harry Seidel, Chair Faith Minton Michael Smith selectboard@warnernh.gov Kathy Frenette, Town Administrator administrator@warnernh.gov

Selectboard Meeting Minutes

Monday, July 1, 2024 3:00 p.m.

I. <u>Open Meeting</u>

Harry Seidel opened the meeting at 3:02 p.m.

II. <u>Roll Call</u>

Present: Harry Seidel (chair), Faith Minton, Michael J. Smith (zoom video) Also Present: Kathy Frenette Town Administrator, Judy Newman-Rogers, Selectboard Administrative Assistant)

III. Select Board Business

Harry Seidel explained that on May 7, 2024, the Select Board met in non-public to discuss the Planning Board and Zoning Board appointments which they later learned was a procedural mistake. He expressed the Select Board's apology for this mistake. He stated that the Select Board is taking this opportunity to correct that unintentional error.

Faith Minton stated that the Select Board is learning the process, and she appreciates the opportunity to correct the Select Board's mistake. She explained that the Select Board had developed questions for the candidates and based on the answers she felt that Pier D'Aprile's background was a good fit for the Planning Board, and she supports him for a 3-year term. She also would like to see Karen Coyne and James Gaffney reappointed. Faith Minton stated that James Sherman has experience serving on the Budget Committee and she supports him as an alternate. She supported Barak Greene and John Leavitt as Planning Board alternates. Faith Minton stated she supports appointing Jim Zablocki to the Zoning Board. She supports reappointing Derrik Narducci and Beverly Howe to the Zoning Board.

Michael Smith echoed Faith Minton's support for the appointees she outlined. He stated that it was a unanimous decision to appoint those individuals.

Harry Seidel explained that at that time he felt that in an attempt to protect the applicants, deliberations should be held in non-public out of an abundance of caution. He acknowledged that was a mistake. Harry Seidel explained that he initially had concerns that Karen Coyne's work schedule might prevent her from dedicating the time required to the Planning Board, but those concerns were addressed. He supported her reappointment to the Planning Board for a 3-year term. Harry Seidel stated that as a result of recent Planning Board resignations a need was

created for experienced members. He supported the appointment of James Gaffney for a 1-year term despite a history of conflict and personality issues. Harry Seidel supported Pier D'Aprile for a 3-year term because of his professional experience, strong civic commitment, master plan commitment and his ability to work with others. Harry Seidel supported Barak Greene for a 3-year term for his commitment to the master plan and climate change. He supports James Sherman as Planning Board member alternate for a 2-year term for his life-long dedication to serving cooperatively, his balanced temperament, and the importance of the master plan. Harry Seidel explained John Leavitt has his support as a Planning Board alternate for a 3-year term on the Zoning Board based on his exceptional service as the Zoning Board vice chair. He supports reappointing Beverly Howe for a 3-year term for her ongoing dedication to the Zoning Board. Harry Seidel spoke about the special talents of James Zablocki and he supports appointing him for a 3-year term to the Zoning Board.

Faith Minton made a motion seconded by Harry Seidel to appoint Barak Greene as a full member on the Planning Board to fill a vacancy from a recent resignation. Motion passed unanimously.

Faith Minton made a motion seconded by Harry Seidel to appoint James Sherman as ex officio if Harry Seidel is unable to attend a Planning Board meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Karen Coyne informed the Select Board that the ex officio must be another Select Board member. There was a review of the related RSA's. **The motion was undone.** Harry Seidel stated that the Select Board will investigate the matter. Michael Smith stated that he would be happy to fill in for Harry if he is unable to attend a Planning Board meeting.

Faith Minton made a motion seconded by Harry Seidel to appoint Michael Smith as Select Board ex officio alternate to the Planning Board if Harry Seidel is unable to attend a Planning Board meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

John Leavitt asked for clarification on why the Select Board chose Barak Greene for the 2-year term over James Gaffney who is a 1-year term. Judy Newman-Rogers explained that James Gaffney is currently a sitting member and in order to change his term he would have to resign. John Leavitt pressed for further clarification on the RSA to support that opinion. Michael Smith agreed, and he assured John that he would investigate it further. John Leavitt stated that the non-public meeting was two hours, and this meeting was very quick. He feels that this meeting did not disclose all the conversations that took place in the non-public meeting. Harry Seidel explained that the Select Board gave a summary of the non-public meeting, and the Select Board cannot reconstruct a meeting that occurred weeks ago. He assured John that the Select Board is not trying to hide anything. Faith Minton stated that the Select Board apologized for their error, and they are doing their best to rectify the problem. John Leavitt asked for additional clarification on the Select Board's rationale in appointing Pier D'Aprile, who has no Planning Board experience, to the 3-year term over James Gaffney who has Planning Board experience

and he was applying for the 3-year term. Faith Minton stated that the Select Board reviewed the answers provided by the candidates and it was the Select Board's decision to appoint Pier D'Aprile to the full membership.

IV. <u>Adjournment</u>

Faith Minton made a motion and seconded by Harry Seidel to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 3:29 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Tracy Doherty Edited by Darcie Buskey, Assistant Clerk